Mayor & Council

City Council

Local government in the City of White Rock is provided by a Mayor and Council. Currently, a Mayor and six Councillors make up Council. Members of Council are elected for four-year terms. New council members elected in the 2018 election were sworn in on November 5th, 2018.

Under the Community Charter and Local Government Act, municipalities and regional districts have broad authority to provide services that their respective municipal councils or regional district boards consider necessary or desirable. Services may be varied both in size and type, for example, water and wastewater management, garbage disposal, recreational facilities or economic development. (Local Government Powers & Services)

The main functions of a municipal council are to look after the current and future economic, social and environmental well being of its community. Council’s primary duties are to create administrative policy, adopt bylaws on matters delegated to local government through the Local Government Act and other Provincial statutes to protect the public, and to collect taxes for those purposes. Council also acquires, manages, and disposes of the City’s assets. Council’s vision sets a course of action, and charts goals that are accomplished by municipal staff under the direction of the Chief Administrative Officer.

Mayor and Council Biographies


Mayor Darryl Walker

Mayor Walker has over 40 years of experience in the public service sector. The Mayor was elected to City Council in the 2018 election and has been a resident of White Rock for nearly 50 years.

Read more about Mayor Walker.


Councillor David Chesney

Councillor Chesney was elected to White Rock City Council for a second term, in October 2018. He has three decades of experience in the arts, entertainment, and media.

Read more about Councillor Chesney.


Councillor Helen Fathers

Councillor Fathers is a fourth term White Rock City Councillor having first been elected in 2008. She is an award-winning marketer who has lived in White Rock for 28 years.

Read more about Councillor Fathers.


Councillor Erika Johanson

Councillor Johanson was elected to office in 2018, and has been living in White Rock since 2007 after leaving Silicon Valley. The Councillor is an active volunteer in our beautiful seaside community.  

Read more about Councillor Johanson.


Councillor Scott Kristjanson

Councillor Kristjanson has extensive experience in the telecom and big data sectors with over 30 years of practice. Councillor Kristjanson is an active community member and volunteer and was elected as a White Rock City Councillor in 2018.

Read more about Councillor Kristjanson.


Councillor Anthony Manning

Councillor Manning has three decades of experience with commercial airlines spending most of that time ensuring safety and regulatory compliance. He was elected as a White Rock City Councillor in 2018.

Read more about Councillor Manning.


Councillor Christopher Trevelyan

Councillor Trevelyan has lived in White Rock for 25 years and is a teacher at Earl Marriott Secondary School. He was elected to White Rock City Council in 2018.

Read more about Councillor Trevelyan.